RSS Feed

Another “Tequila Sunrise”

Posted on

We’re still reeling from losing David Bowie last week.  I just learned that Glenn Frey from the Eagles has passed away.

The first time I heard an Eagles song, I was 17, lonely and mad at the world.  From our home on the Florida coast, my family moved to the ugliest place on earth–I truly believed–the California high desert town of Palmdale.

My life was over as far as I could tell. Being 3,000 miles away from my friends and the boy I loved was bad enough, but the local high school didn’t give a rip about my straight As. Instead of letting me start college, (and getting the hell out of there), they saddled me with PE and California history.

Except for letters and phone calls from my boyfriend, only one thing eased my teenage angst.  That was driving my ice-blue 1964 Pontiac GTO on the dusty desert roads.  I turned the radio full blast, sang along and cried.  Lots.

As I drove to school, “Tequila Sunrise” by the Eagles quickly became my favorite driving-and-crying tune, a potent musical cocktail that numbed the pain.  “It’s another tequila sunrise, starin’ slowly ‘cross the sky, said goodbye…”  The song’s sweet mournfulness and the spectacular desert sunrise in front of me permanently fused in my memory.

Because of your song, my lonely heart found peace and healing. Glenn Frey, I give you the best of my love.

 

Leave a Reply

