RSS Feed

Sad News for Music Lovers

Posted on

We Boomers lost two music icons this week with the passing of Casey Kasem and Gerry Goffin.

I should say “pop music icons,” I suppose.  But guys, Top 40 is what AM radio played before the days of FM and album rock.  We cut our musical teeth on pop music of the 60s and 70s.   I took my transistor radio everywhere, even on my bike, because I didn’t want to miss a musical countdown of the week’s top hits  (Thanks, Casey!)

Gerry, a gifted lyricist, and his then-wife Carole King wrote some of the most unforgettable songs ever.  “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” is one of my all-time favorites.   

Give me a snippet of a song, and the music will transport me to another place and time.  Think I’m setting the Way Back Machine to Loco-Motion Time right now.

 

Leave a Reply

