RSS Feed

Late October Musings

Posted on

It’s the first cool evening of the season, the season we call “fall” in Florida.  No falling leaves here.  Our fall officially arrives when the temperature dips below 80 during the day, 60 at night.

(Halloween is usually a summerlike, makeup-melting muggy affair).

Tonight I was not only inspired to make chicken and dumplings, but also to slip in a quick walk around the neighborhood after dinner.  Cool air lifted my hair and my spirits.  I walked faster, reveling in the fading light that was soon replaced with a delightful pumpkin-colored sunset.

Fall, I embrace you!  As I toast your arrival with a cup of hot apple cider, I realize the air conditioner’s still running.

Leave a Reply

